Morning shake isssues ...

nicklebleu

The Living Force
FOTCM Member
Hi all,

I have been making myself a morning shake for about 3 months now (along the lines discussed elsewhere in the forum) but have found the experience "difficult to swallow" (pun intended).

My ingredient list looks like that:
- frozen blueberries
- maybe small banana to sweeten the deal
- 1 tblsp of linseed
- 1 tsp of vit c
- 1 handfull of almonds
- 1 tsp of macca root powder
- 1/2 tsp of magnesium citrate
- 1/2 tsp of tri-salts (a mix of ca-carbonate, mg-carbonate, k-carbonate)
- water
AND
- 1 tblsp of spirulina

Apart from that I ingest:
- 1 caps of MSM
- 1 caps of reduced glutathion
- 1 caps of 600mg ALA

And then:
- juice of 1 lemon
- 1 tblsp of cod liver oil
- 1 tblsp of linseed oil

I used to put all these ingredients into the shake, but found the mixture to be too hard to drink. So I took the cod liver and linseed oil out of the mix and now drink it with lemon juice which is quite ok.

My main problem is the spirulina. It tastes awful and makes my shake look a sickly green. I call it my "dragon sperm" :scared: I have somewhat improved the formula by adding the juice of a full lemon to the mix.

While I totally see the benefits of taking spirulina, and it feels quite satisfying for many hours after, I also think that (particularly) breakfast should be an enjoyable experience. I usually dread my shake as soon as I get up - on weekends I supplement this with other more palatable things like eggs or bowl of fruit etc.

I really would like to keep on taking the spirulina, but would like to ask all of you, what your experience is with it - and if you have found a way to actually start to enjoy taking your morning shake.

All suggestions appreciated!
Nick

Hi nicklebleu,