Back to work issues

mada85

The Cosmic Force
After a long period of absence from work due to ill-health (7 months) I'm starting a phased return on Monday. I'm about half way through Strangers to Ourselves and I'm seeing that there really are things that I can't see in myself, especially in relation to causes of feelings and judgements.

In my job I am the manager of a housing complex for older people, with 72 flats to look after. I'll call this Location A. I've been working there since the middle of 2010. I got sick one year after I started there. When I first started at Location A, I felt completely at home there, it was a refreshing change from the place I worked at before that. I liked all the residents there and the place has a nice atmosphere. This feeling of being at home continued during all my time there. By the time I got sick, I knew the place intimately, the residents and their issues, and the bricks and mortar. My immediate supervisor (not my boss) told me that she really missed having me there as I had all the knowledge of the place at my fingertips.

Another person has been doing my job since I've been off work, and was told that she is the permanent staff there. I've heard on the grapevine that this person is not so good at the job as me. However my boss said to me yesterday that he doesn't want to move this person again as they have only been at Location A for seven months.

My boss is now making noises about transferring me to another similar place, which I'll call Location B. It has about the same number of flats but is completely different in the makeup of the residents and the general atmosphere. To be short – I don't like it, I don't like the atmosphere, and I don't want to work there. Not to mention that there's an active wireless router on the desk in the office, and I don't think I'll be able to move it.

At Location A there are several work colleagues with whom I have an excellent relationship, while at Location B I would be on my own.