StrangeCaptain

Jedi Council Member
An e-mail from one of my professors:

"This month's London Mathematical Society newsletter covers a recent exhbition
by Justin Mullins, entitled Mathematical Photography: an exhibition of the
world's most beautiful equations. Some of this work is available online at:
http://www.justinmullins.com"

Take a look. It is interesting.

That is very interesting but since I can't understand what the equations represent, if maybe Ark can comment on them I would love to read his remarks.
As a student I loved algebra and solving the equations. Then we had a chemistry teacher (MR. Tracy) and he had told us that theoretical physics was the queen of all sciences (actually he was a physics teacher I guess) We were 16 then. He would try to explain Einstein's famous equation e= mc2 and I loved to hear what he said but if someone said I don't understand he would just erase it and say forget it. Well I wanted to be a chemical engineer because I loved chemistry and because I had read the life of Marie Curie. But I ended up in Business admin. which I did not like so much but finished it anyway (We had entrance exams for the university and since we were not given enough science and math classes at school I could get enough points for chemistry eng.)

There's a running joke in the art world that goes something like this:
If an artist scribbles something on a blackboard that people don’t understand – they say, “Well, I don’t understand it therefore the artist is stupid.”
But if a scientist scribbles some equations on the blackboard the same people will say, “Well, I don’t understand it therefore I must be stupid.”

Perhaps Justin Mullins is responding (perhaps sarcastically) to such perceptions about the viewing public. :)