UFOs are fake, so y'all better straighten up!

Neil

Dagobah Resident
FOTCM Member
I've had an interesting first two weeks at college to say the least. I'm majoring in Astrophysics, and thus far, almost all my time in my physics classes has been spent demonstrating the "obvious" baloney of the entire phenomenon while throwing in the occasional concept or formula to learn. The department is very interested in the new science of astrobiology and frequently compares it to ufology. On the first day, we discussed the textbook, which was written by Seth Shostak of SETI. It turns out, Seth is scheduled to come next semester and talk to our group about SETI, astrobiology, and all of these pseudosciences. Anyway, on the second day of class, we had a quiz, and on it was one question. "On a scale of 0-10, with 10 being the highest, how convinced are you that we have been visited by aliens?" I could feel myself falling into a trap here, so I decided to put a "conservative" answer of 9. So then I got wise and asked the professor what HIS answer was. His response was, "Uh, well, we'll talk about that later." After that, the the UFO theme for the day was virtually dropped. It turns out that the first chapter of our textbook is an introduction to astrobiology, SETI's contribution to it, and how aliens in popular culture have influenced and skewed the science. On day three, we discussed various aspects of the scientific method, and the Occam's Razor mode of reasoning(if two theories fit the data equally well use the simplest one) was applied to UFOs. There was a neat little video of a UFO hovering over a house on the Powerpoint presentation, and we were to suggest ideas about what the UFO was. So we came up with a hoax, distortion in the camera, distortion in the atmosphere, and remote but negligable possibility it was an alien spacecraft. The video did seem like a hoax to me. It was one of those in your face flying saucers that conveniently sat over this guy's house so he could fil