medecins sans frontieres

Jeremy F Kreuz

Dagobah Resident
Since more than a decade I work as a volunteer for the humanitarian organization Medecins Sans Frontieres (MSF). Since I started reading SOTT, this Forum and several books recommended, I felt a growing worry that something was very wrong with MSF. While reading ‘ponerology’ I had increasing moments where I felt that what was written applied directly to the way some people in MSF work, think, act. I suddenly understood several aspects of the organization that up till then I could not explain. The question I had to ask was: were the principles and manifests of the organization (in which I believed so strongly) replaced by empty rethoric and nothing but a smokescreen where psychopaths could hide behind? Or was it worse, and was the whole idea behind humanitarian aid wrong from the beginning?

Anart: Re: Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs, a primative model fit for psychopaths? ‘Ultimately, if a psychological theory is developed by someone who is pathological, how could the theory be anything but? It might hit a true note here or there, especially when heard through the filter of critical correction, but, ultimately it will always be tainted by the pathological world view. (Freud would be another example...)’

from From the MSF USA website
“Doctors Without Borders/Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF) is a private international association. The association is made up mainly of doctors and health sector workers and is also open to all other professions which might help in achieving its aims. All of its members agree to honor the following principles:
Médecins Sans Frontières provides assistance to populations in distress, to victims of natural or man-made disasters and to victims of armed conflict. They do so irrespective of race, religion, creed or political convictions.