Motives for the Strike

S

simulcastfred

OK...I am fairly new to this. I have seen the video and read the editorials and there are some convincing arguments and supporting evidence here.

However, I am missing one thing. The stated goal of the attacks, if committed/sanctioned by the US gov, would be to obtain support for invading 'terrorist nations' and to build support for Patriot Act type legislation to centralize more power in the hands of the people in charge. (my summary...pretty close, I hope)

The World Trade Center attacks complete these goals. No attack on the Pentagon (nor the other flight, wherever its intended target) were required to complete this agenda. In every article that I read on this subject, the motives for the attack on the Pentagon are lumped together with the other attacks...and I'm not buying that if it was 'US' who planned the attack. If it really was terrorists, well, sure..you would want a commercial/financial target, a military target, and presumably a government target (which failed) to show that you can hit at any point in American culture.

So, why hit the Pentagon (assuming the 'US' line of attack)? Hit a part of the building under renovation, with few occupants? My only thought goes toward the 'Tom Clancy' line of thinking...there was a single, human, target in that portion of the building. Now, if that could be proven (that being a powerful person of opposition to the current leadership was in that area at the time of the attack), it would go a long way to helping me buy into some of these theories. Or, if some other plausible motive could be put forward.

As it is, I am having a hard time buying *why* you would want to hit the Pentagon, if you were a member of the government who plotted attacks. Anyone help me out on this?

After reading Laura's book on the subject I have a couple of answers.