Self observation and STO from Jesus to Alcoholics Anonymous

go2

Dagobah Resident
Vide said:
go2 said:
I began the search for the truth in a Twelve Step Program. They are based on the Oxford Group movement of the early Twentieth Century, which was roughly esoteric Christianity.

This is taking the thread astray, but this comment picqued my interest.
Go2, How do you see actions and/or principals of the Oxford Group relating to esoteric Christianity?
Do/did you see those things in your respective 12 step program too? (Roughly...

I want to start by acknowledging that I am not an expert on these topics, with the exception of my personal experience with the Twelve Steps. You bring up a vast subject, so I will limit my comments to two principles, self-observation and service to others. I will answer your first question starting with the words of Jesus as written by the author of Luke 8:16-18 regarding self observation as the key to reveal the contradictions and lies composing the programs of our human personality. The words may seem strange, for various reasons the truth is hidden in plain sight. I will consider the lighted lamp to be self observation which fulfills the ancient admonition to know thyself. This concept of self examination is thereby traced from its origins in this fragment of history as a principle of esoteric Christianity in the words of Jesus.

Jesus said:
Luke 8:16-18(king James Version)

16No man, when he hath lighted a candle, covereth it with a vessel, or putteth it under a bed; but setteth it on a candlestick, that they which enter in may see the light.
17For nothing is secret, that shall not be made manifest; neither any thing hid, that shall not be known and come abroad.
18Take heed therefore how ye hear: for whosoever hath, to him shall be given; and whosoever hath not, from him shall be taken even that which he seemeth to have.