2D Desert Friends

B

Bar Kochba

Since moving to Phoenix in January 2009, I have had the pleasure of working in the desert and seeing many of the critters who call it home. I like all of them. I have been up close and personal with mountain lions, bobcats, coyotes, rattlesnakes, coral snakes (all kinds of snakes), different kinds of lizards, horned toads, javalinas, quail, tarantulas, africanized bees (I have been stung 4 times in 2 years)...and my favorite desert critter, the road runner. I am an irrigation tech at a golf resort in the desert, and my job brings me into contact with these animals every day. Road runners are crazy to observe; they will chase, kill, and eat field mice. One will come strutting down the fairway towards me, staying about 2-3 car lengths away from where I am standing. If I have a watering hose in my hand, I will quickly turn it on and try to douse the bird. It will run out of range in a hurry, only to come strutting back, its crown all spiky from being wet, as if to say, "Try it again, buddy." We do this quite often.

The desert is a dangerous place. It keeps me on my toes, and has taught me to respect and move amongst all life in a way I never have before. ;)

Quite interesting BK. Perhaps bring that guitar of yours to work someday and serenade nature?

She will surely enjoy it.

I lived in Arizona for a short time and have fond memories of the exotic wildlife in the high desert. Especially the road runners. They do have a distinct personality.

I moved to Albuquerque, NM years ago for a short time. Having only seen 'the road runner' in cartoons, I actually expected them to be about two feet tall! :lol:

But wow, I've only seen them run around, never got to get to know their personalities.

Oh and the greatest shock was taking off my shoes to go wander around barefoot like normal. Um, ouch. So many prickers/thorns. I barely made it out five feet out of the house before learning that lesson!