Bad News about Berkey water filter and other filters

SummerLite

The Living Force
FOTCM Member
For all of you who may be using a Berkey and love it for its fabulous filtering capabilities.....looks like its not all its cracked up to be, sadly. I've been using a Berkey for 7 years now and bought it from recommendations by forum members here so thought you'd find this insightful. So, now I'm also looking for a new, gravity fed filter when I thought I was covered.

3 videos laying out what this man found from his research and "trying" to contact the company with questions on their claims that the filters are efficient at 3000 gallons of use.

Explains how Berkey hasn't any legitimate certification for their claims of high level filtration. When contacted, the 3rd party lab they use (since NSF certification is so expensive) even said, their tests only covered 200 gallons. He names a few brands he thinks are reputable, Aqua Sauna, Zero Water, Watts.

Berkey is involved 2 lawsuits, one is a class action lawsuit and the test results from a reputable lab, used as evidence, are dismal if not shocking. As an example, for 100 gallons of filtered water, chloramine had only a reduction of 56.3. Other examples for various chemicals are given, all very poor. Sounds like a scam. He gives documentation somewhere but I couldn't find it.

As he continued his search for that perfect water filter he discovered a long list of other companies that are doing the same thing as Berkey.......Fabulous claims and no verification. Water purifiers are in big demand these days and profits are being made no doubt. To name a few, Alexa Pure, aquacera, Zen Water, ProPure.

Hum, that's a bad news. The fact is that, my work, we recently moved to a new room/offices, and i planed, before end of this year, to buy a water filter and a berkey was the "no-doubt" choice.