H&W Show: Avoiding the amygdala hijack..

Il Matto

Jedi
First of all, many thanks to the SOTT editors for another informative and thought-provoking show.

Sadly, I have yet to be able to listen to the show live and so I usually have to play 'catch-up' at some point over the weekend - had I been able to listen to the live show on Friday I would have called in to share some thoughts on the prevalence of 'amygdala hijacking' in my line of work..

I work in education, with 11-18 year olds. Working with age range provides many an opportunity for seeing plenty of 'hijacking', as this SOTT article (https://www.sott.net/article/348262-How-to-avoid-the-Amygdala-hijack) noted:

Unfortunately, the rational part of our brain is not fully developed until our mid-20s

So, of course, I'm quite likely to witness lots of amygdala hijacking with this age group, as it would appear that - in a large number of cases - the rational part of the brain simply isn't developed enough to 'kick-in' and prevent the hijacking. Given the - generally - authoritarian and stress inducing nature of the modern school environment, this really isn't that much of a shocker.
I did also get to thinking about the number of colleagues I have witnessed 'losing it', or succumbing to an amygdala hijack as I now understand to be the case. I can confess to having lost my cool on a couple of occasions in the past, over what were definitely insignificant events (such as young people 'testing boundaries'), and I'm tempted to relate at least a large proportion of these incidents amongst colleagues to threats to the ego, or as I like to refer to it: being disabused of the illusion of control! Unfortunately, such episodes of 'losing-it' are not as rare as they really should be in education.