Living in Tokyo this year (Hakuba for the winter)

fabric

SuperModerator
FOTCM Member
This past year I have been working my butt off to save enough cash return to Japan and continue my studies there. I finally had the money and timing to return in June of 2009 and have been living in Tokyo. Currently I'm living in a small town called "Hakuba". I'm surrounded by ski resorts and beautiful mountians and it is quite an interesting little town.

I'm planning to return in February to Tokyo and make a trip over to Italy with my girlfriend and some friends for a week or so. Then I'll be back in Tokyo looking for work, preferrably some CAD design or controls programming. Although I'll most likely end up teaching English.

My first 6 months here I studied Japanese intensely; school in the morning for about 3 hours and then self study basically after school until I went to bed. I was aiming to take a Japanese proficiency test in December, which if I pass, would increase my chances of finding some decent employment here. Alas, I don't think I will pass - I'll know in February.

The hardest thing about living here is trying to keep up with the Work and being consistent with diet and meditation. It's a great place to practice discipline and learning a new language and culture brings all kinds of interesting challenges.