Work Related Situation w/ Character Disturbed Individual - Requesting Feedback

Andrew

Jedi Master
Hello Everyone,

I’m writing in today requesting an honest assessment by the group, of a situation I will soon find myself in and am uncertain whether my observations and assessment of the situation are accurate.

Background Information:

I’m an Independent Contractor that works with/for a Real Estate Investor here in Southern California, that manages a small team of about 6. Essentially, the company buys real estate from people in distressing situations, I.E. Inherited homes (loss of a family member), Foreclosures, Divorces, Bankruptcy, etc.

I’ve been with him and his wife for almost 4 years now. I build manage & maintain all of their web-properties, advising on marketing strategies amongst various other IT and other Marketing related tasks. They were also kind enough to provide me office space free of charge to do my work in. So for the better part of this time, I have worked consistently at their office.

Over the past 2 years, business growth has slowed.

The team and myself, recently received a group email informing us that on the 10th-11th of September we will be having a Team Meeting, involving a set of Business Coaches my partner/client has hired to come in and consult on his business.

In this email, ALL team members were given a MANDATORY reading assignment; The book is “Traction” by Gino Wickman.

In a nutshell, it gives you a solid foundational strategy for structuring an organization, rooting out problems and ensuring you have the Right People doing the Right jobs in the company. As well as establishing a set of Company Core Values, that the entire team stands behind and upholds throughout the company.

My Client recently spoke with me, and offered me a position on his Leadership team as the Director of Operations.

This lead him to ask me to be a part of the Leadership meeting on the 9th of September; a day before the Team Meeting is to be held.