Poking the belly of the beast.

Rich

The Living Force
Yesterday I started something I have never done before and in all honesty don't really think it will go anywhere. There are two things bugging me at the moment.
In the town I currently live there is a relatively old department store on the high street. It sells a wide range of indoor furnishings, appliances, gadgets, toys, cookware and that type of thing. On the 3rd or 4th floor there is a coffee-shop and eatery that adjoins a balcony. The balcony has a fantastic view of the surrounding hills. fields and the odd crane. A couple of images are here but don't give a good picture of the vista: martells.co.uk/clouds-coffee-shop
A month or two ago I fancied a coffee and a nice view. So I found the waiter there and bought a coffee which I took onto the balcony where I found a comfy chair where I sat. I started enjoying the drink and lit a roll-up to accompany it. Comfy chair, nice view, coffee and cigarette. What more could you ask for? But, ater a couple of minutes I was interrupted by a staff member who asked me to put out my cigarette because I was in a no smoking area. I did but didn't really understand what the problem was: It was outside and as far as I could tell wouldn't bother anyone. I finished my drink and then left sporting a grumpy face.

I am aware of the anti-smoking killjoys and legislation that has slowly crept into society which (for me) has been quite tolerable until that day I just described. I shall call it "No smoking on balcony day". I suppose it reaches a point when a line of sanity is crossed where one feels impelled to do something about it.

I looked on the web for the legislation that had been passed that had resulted in this. I found that the UK Health Act 2006 was in the naughty bin. I searched to find out who the MP is for this area and found a Tory chap called Nicholas Soames. I know little about him except by looking at theyworkforyou.com we see he